MyPlayer - Anglia Ruskin University
English English

Lunchtime Concert- Symphonia Academica

  • There are no associated files
Average Rating:

Lunchtime Concert- Symphonia Academica

Joseph Haydn – ‘Sunrise’ Quartet

Claude Debussy – Quartet in G Minor

Anglia Ruskin University’s Associate Ensemble, Symphonia Academica, perform another in their Masterworks series. In this concert they will contrast the music of the father of string quartet writing with that of the originator of impressionistic music.

Haydn was known throughout Europe and his music highly revered. Haydn’s string quartets were particularly influential, sparking the quartets of the Mozart and Beethoven. Haydn’s ‘Sunrise’ quartet was written by the composer in his later years at a time when he had accepted an invite to visit England.

Debussy is held as the originator of Impressionism in music, though this was a term he disliked, feeling closer to the Symbolist writers of his day. Written in 1893, the quartet has become one of the most beloved in the repertoire with its stunning beauty and variety of textures created with just four string instruments.


  • There are no comments

You are not allowed to post comments

Embed Code

Use Javascript 'Modes' Embed Code
Use Legacy Flash Embed Code

320 x 260

640 x 385

835 x 505

100% 16:9
Contributor:  Rodgers
Views: 2
Date Added: 18 Dec 2018
More In: Arts, Humanities and Social Sciences - Public
Duration: 00:51:58